Dreams of Sydney Portier

sydney p
Photo by Pascal Le Segretain – © 2011 Getty Images

Sidney Portier Died

Ghosts come ‘round in my sleep
telling me things I shouldn’t know.
I don’t know what to do with the information
‘cept say, Sidney Portier died
and everyone looks at me like I’m crazy.
He DID, I say. Everybody was so sad, I said.

The next morning I saw him on TV.
I was shocked.
Just as surely as there is heat in the night, I thought he died.
You just can’t trust dreams anymore.

©Lori Ziegelmeyer

Leave a Reply

