As 2014 Comes to a Close

I’m glad this year is ending. I thought it was a tough one all the way around. I think America/the world could use something NEW that might open our eyes and our hearts. Let’s hope this new year will bring just that.

I’ve never been big on resolutions but last year I made a list of things I wanted to accomplish in 2014. The year started out so hopeful! I dove head first into my mixed media and made lots of mistakes and some not-so-great art but I had FUN! I also like to think I had some successes but that’s in the eye of the beholder.

Fast-forward to the end of April when I fell and tore a ligament off a bone in my wrist. I got a xray (“I don’t see any breaks, but… I heard only the first part of the good doctor’s sentence since I was in total denial that I hurt myself) then went camping for a month. The Frio River was my cold water therapy but by the end of May, I was HURTING. Two operations, an anger-inducing 2.5 month cast and tons of therapy later, I should have been able to close this chapter in my life. Instead, I possibly re-injured it recently by thinking I’m still 19 years old and climbed up on the side of my truck to tie something down. For me, 2015 will start with figuring out whether I truly hurt myself again or if I just strained it. I am definitely tired of being limited.

The brightest spot for me this year was very personal. My SO (together for 23, almost 24 years) and I decided it was past time to get married since Texas is forever dragging its feet, so we went to NYC in September and got married in Central Park. It was magical and sweet and perfect! Had we not made plans to go to New York in early 2014 before I hurt myself, we would have never gone. Ah, things happen as they should, no? I could go on and on about how wonderful New York is but if you’ve been there you already know. If you haven’t been there, I can’t explain.

As I sit here typing this, there are about 7 hours left of this year. I’m going to check off one more item on my 2014 list by finishing some mixed media for my daddy and my b-i-l. This evening I will drink some champagne to bring in this new year – one of sweet hope, good health and better art.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

